The most important terms and their meaning.

ASTM International

ASTM D3950-4 is a standard for linear tensile strengths of strapping made from plastic and steel

Battery strapping tool

Battery operated strapping tool for bundling and sealing goods, securing pallets and strapping with PET strapping tape or PP strapping tape. Usually with friction-sealing. Most manufacturers, including LINDER, use long-life lithium-ion batteries with no memory effect. LINDER provides the service for strapping tools and machines in the in-house workshop.

blank

Type of corrosion protection for steel strapping. Blank, blued, black lacquered and zinc lacquered are available. Bright steel strapping is not referred to as a quality belt. It is only available in ribbon coils and has the least corrosion protection.

Blank strapping

Blank strapping, see “blank”, is blank steel strapping in coils without additional treatment for corrosion protection. It has a lightly greased surface, is cold-rolled and has a strength/breaking load of 650-760N/mm² and 3-4% breaking elongation. The blank steel strap has rounded edges and is suitable for use with hand tools.
Steel straps generally have extremely high tear strengths of up to 700 kg and are particularly suitable for heavy, sharp-edged or hot packaged goods.

Breaking elongation

If the tape is pulled from both ends, the percentage by which the tape can be stretched before it tears is indicated.

Breaking load

The breaking load of a strap is calculated by the width * Strap strength * ØNewton, e.g. 16*0.5*885=7080N. Therefore this figure indicates a strap, to which a weight of 708kg can be attached before it breaks.
The question many users ask is, “How many straps do I need to secure a pallet of 1000kg?” The answer is also dependent on whether the material is to be secured only in principle or be additionally secured from slipping. For example, with a blued strip of dimensions 19*0.6 mm and 885N/mm² of average tensile strength, the breaking load would be 10089N = 1.0089 To per strap. So this would require one strap. As a guideline, 20% should always be installed as a shock reserve, i.e. for a 1000kg load, 1200kg should be secured.

Bundle strap

See strapping

BGI

BGI Load securing on road vehicles

Blued

Type of corrosion protection for steel strapping. Available are blank, blued, black lacquered and zinc lacquered, the three latter forming the quality strapping group. Improved corrosion protection is achieved by a thin, adherent blue oxide layer and additional hot wax. This results in optimal tensioning of the packaging steel strap in the strapping machine.

CTU

CTU packing guidelines (guidelines for packing cargo other than bulk cargo into and out of transport units [CTUs = Container Transport Units] for transport with all modes of transport by sea and land, as of 1997, the new edition should have come out in 2014, but is not yet available)

DIN EN 13394:2001-07

In the DIN EN 13394:2001-07 standard, packaging specifications for non-metallic strapping is regulated; German version of EN 13394:2001

DIN EN 13246:2001-07

DIN EN 13246:2001-07 deals with packaging specifications for steel strapping; German version of EN 13246:2001.

DIN EN 13891:2003-09

In the DIN EN 13891:2003-09 standard, the selection of strapping and application is specified; German version of EN 13891:2003.

DIN EN 12195-1

The DIN EN 12195-1 (April 2004) in the EU (except for Germany, where VDI 2700 et seq. applies) contains calculation bases, e.g. acceleration coefficients, and calculation procedures for securing loads

DIN 10531

DIN 10531 (Securing loads by covering)

DIN EN 12195

DIN EN 12195 et seq. (calculation of lashing forces, lashing equipment)

DIN EN 12640

DIN EN 12640 (lashing points)

Embossed surface

An embossed PET tape has the better sealing properties due to a larger material surface. The more embossed the tape is, the cheaper/more economical it is because the material thickness (grammage) decreases, as does the breaking strength.

Flat strapping

Any form of strapping with a support surface of about 10cm of flat strapping material.

Grammage

The wider and thicker the tape the higher the grammage (material weight) and thus the higher the breaking strength.

High tensile strapping

High-tensile strapping is available as a ribbon coil and as a packing coil. Corrosion protection is available in blued, black painted and zinc coated. High-tensile steel strapping has a breaking load of 930-1030 N/mm² and a breaking elongation of approx. 13%.

Number of straps

The load weight divided by the system strength (plus a safety factor if desired, 20% recommended) gives the minimum number of straps required per pallet. For reasons of stability, the minimum number of straps/pallets should never be less than two.

Quality strapping

Quality strapping is available as a ribbon coil and as an oscillated coil. Corrosion protection is available in blued, black painted and zinc coated. Quality strapping has a breaking load of 750-960 N / mm² and a breaking elongation of approx. 6-8%.
Quality strapping is heat treated and blued. It has absolutely rounded edges, is waxed and is suitable for semi-automatic and fully automatic machines, as well as hand tools.
Lacquered quality strapping has improved corrosion protection. The application for black lacquer is approx. 3my, with zink lacquer approx. 6 my.
Steel straps generally have extremely high tear strengths of up to 700 kg and are particularly suitable for heavy, sharp-edged or hot packaged goods.

Smooth surface

A smooth PET strapping tape has a higher breaking strength because it has more g/m and less abrasion.

LIS Part I

LIS part I (load securing of general cargo, BAM training manual, October 2011)

Manual strapping device

In the case of manual strapping devices, the strapping is manually tensioned and – depending on the type of strapping – sealed with a sleeve or metal seal (or web closure). For PP and PET-tape there are, in addition to separate tensioners & pliers, so-called combi strapping devices, in which clamping and sealing functions are integrated in one device. Manual strapping devices are significantly cheaper than pneumatic or battery strapping devices and should be used whenever strapping is only required occasionally.

MSL (Maximum Securing Load)

In the case of sea transport, MSL (Maximum Securing Load) is important. This load is used for the one-way lashing load of 50% of the breaking strength. The MSL is specified in daN.

Mobile strapping

Mobile strapping refers to any form of flexible, locally applicable strapping. Mobile strapping is therefore mainly carried out with a manual or battery operated tool.

Oscillated coil

Type of steel strapping coil. Steel strapping comes in disk coils and pack coils. In the case of a pack coils, the dispenser is fitted from the front. It is chosen primarily for machine processing, as there are several meters on the reel. For manual processing, due to the heavy weight of the pack winding (50kg per pack), disc winding, with about 20kg, is preferred.

Pneumatic strapping tool

The use of pneumatic strapping tools with textile or lashing is always appropriate if, for example, very high and/or constant clamping forces have to be achieved due to safety regulations. In connection with PP and PET belts, pneumatic battery powered strapping devices are preferred whenever stationary strapping is required and/or particularly high clamping forces are required (e.g. when processing 25 or 32 mm PET belts).

PP strap, PP strapping

PP stands for polypropylene. Polypropylene is a thermoplastic produced by chain polymerization of propene. It belongs to the group of polyolefins and is partly crystalline and nonpolar.
A strapping band made of polypropylene is suitable for processing with fully automatic machines, battery strapping devices and manual hand strapping devices. PP tape is a cost-effective variant for tensile strengths up to 250 kg. PP strapping tape is well suited for use with packed goods whose volume changes (e.g. wood), elongation approx. 20%.

PET tape, PET strapping tape

PET is short for polyethylene terephthalate. Polyethylene terephthalate is a thermoplastic of the polyester family produced by polycondensation. PET has a wide range of applications and is used, among other things, for the production of plastic bottles (PET bottles), films and textile fibres. PET strapping tape is made from recycled PET bottles. Virgin raw material is only used when high breaking strengths or colored/transparent tapes are desired. The LINDER Premium PET tape is suitable for processing with fully automatic machines, battery strapping devices and manual hand strapping devices and is characterized by extremely high tear strengths up to 650 kg. In many cases, the PET strap can be used as an economical alternative to steel strapping. PET strapping is very resistant to splicing and has a low elongation. PET tape is available in sizes of 9-32 mm width and 0.4-1.34 mm thickness.

Tensile strength

The tensile strength of a strapping band is given in daN.

Round strapping

Round strapping is always the case when there is no or very little contact surface. In the case of round goods, no battery powered tools can be used for PP/PET straps or no hand-held hand tools for steel strips.

Disc coil

Type of steel strapping coil. Steel strapping comes in disk coils and pack coils. Disc coils are easier to handle due to their weight. Weight of disc coils depending on width:
13mm with 20kg to 32mm with 50kg, from 25mm to 32mm there are only disc coils. The dispenser is equipped with a top winder. Disc coils are predominantly selected for manual processing, as machine processing also includes the advantage of less frequent roll changing by using pack coils.

black lacquered

Type of corrosion protection for steel strapping. Blank, blued, black lacquered and zinc lacquered are available. Electrophoretic coating (galvanic paint application) ensures a uniform lacquer coating on the steel strap. This coating is highly adhesive and elastic. The lacquered steel strip is characterized by a high rust protection; especially at the edges. It also offers low abrasion for high reliability of equipment and machines.

Shock reserve

In strapping jargon, the intended over-securing of goods is referred to as a shock reserve. If a load of 1000 kg is to be secured, it is advised to add 20% as a shock reserve in order to be prepared for the most extreme case. This means you actually secure 1200kg.

Lacing

See strapping.

Intrinsic viscosity

The intrinsic viscosity (IV) of flakes has an important influence on strap properties, e.g. tensile strength, so it is important to use the correct raw material

System strength

System strength: when strapping with a strap and buckle is carried out. The system strength depends on the linear tensile strength of the strip and the sealing strength. Theoretical formula: Linear tensile strength x 2 – loss in the seal (the seal is the weakest link), i.e. system strength is approx. 2×80% – 20% loss in closure = 1.6 times linear breaking strength.

Stationary strapping

Stationary strapping refers to application strapping at a single site. Stationary strapping is applied with the use of machines or pneumatic tools.

Strapping tool

There are three different types of strapping straps for PP and PET strapping: manual strapping tools, pneumatic strapping tools, battery strapping tools.
In the case of manual strapping tools, the PP or PET strap is manually tensioned by means of a lever on the device and closed by means of a plastic or metal closure sleeve. You can select whether the tensioner and the tongs are used separately from each other or are used in combination with a strapping tool.
If the support surface for the pack to be strapped is too small, it is also possible to fall back on magazine devices or magazine strapping devices. These devices automatically re-insert a new closure sleeve after each strapping operation.
Pneumatic strapping tools are usually used less frequently because they are less flexible due to the air pressure connection. However, they can be used practically whenever the same clamping force is to be achieved, for frequent strapping or strapping that takes place in a humid environment.
For customers who must strap often and do not want to forego comfort, we recommend the use of battery powered strapping tools. These devices are light in weight, easy to handle and offer significant savings. For example, the user can dispense with locking seals when using battery strapping devices, such as the OR-T 250, the LSZP92, the LSZP96 or the BXT-19, and at the same time carry out significantly more strapping in a shorter time. Our battery strapping devices tension and weld at the push of a button and are of a very high durability.

Strapping

Strapping and securing packs is referred to as strapping with a closure strap, which is called a strapping band. Strapping is nowadays found in nearly every industry: whether in the metal industry, building materials, timber, drinks, furniture, logistics or consumer goods: At the end of the production process and before shipping. Packages are sealed with straps, bundled goods or the packaged goods are fixed on a pallet for transport. Especially in the area of ​​load securing, the issue of strapping plays an important role, whether container shipments, airfreight shipping or rail and road freight traffic. From sensitive and sensitive materials to complete machines and heavy concrete blocks, the strapping solution can be individually tailored to the respective application. The materials used depend entirely on the product. In most cases, steel, plastic or fabric strapping is used. The strapping is tensioned, closed and cut off by metal clamps, sleeves or welding techniques.
Depending on the size of the packs, the quality of the packaged goods and the required force, a variety of tools are used: manual strapping tools, pneumatic strapping tools, battery strapping tools, and strapping machines integrated into fully automatic conveying and packaging systems.

Environmental influences

If strapping is to be applied in humid, wet, and other adverse environments, manual tools are more suitable than battery-operated tools. The type of strapping must also be selected accordingly. Resistance to weathering and changes in the properties of the strip due to environmental factors are important decision criteria.

Closure seals

Closure seals are always selected based on the strapping tool and not for the strapping itself.

Closure strength

How much % of the linear tensile strength is achieved in a breaking load test in strapping with buckle. Minimum requirements are defined in standards such as EN ISO and ASTM.
The closure strength depends on the type of closure used:
– Seals (steel strapping, PP, PET strapping)
– Metal wire buckles (polyester strapping, woven tape)
– Metal wire clamps/hooks (single use straps, lashing)
– Seal-less: friction weld / hot weld (PP or PET strapping)

VDI 3968

VDI 3968 et seq. (Securing loads)

zinc coated

Type of corrosion protection for steel strapping. Blank, blued, black lacquered and zinc lacquered are available.

Die wichtigsten Begrifflichkeiten und ihre Bedeutung.

Akku-Umreifungsgerät

Batteriebetriebenes Umreifungsgerät zum Bündeln und Verschließen von Waren, Sichern von Paletten und Umreifen mit PET Umreifungsband oder PP Umreifungsband. Meist mit Reib-Schweiß-Verschluss. Die meisten Hersteller, so auch LINDER, verbauen langlebige Lithium-Ionen Akkus ohne Memory Effekt. LINDER stellt den Service für Umreifungsgeräte und -maschinen in der hauseigenen Werkstatt sicher.

Anzahl Umreifungen

Das Ladungsgewicht dividiert durch die Systemfestigkeit (plus einen Sicherheitsfaktor falls gewünscht, empfohlen sind 20%) ergeben die Mindestanzahl der benötigten Umreifungen pro Palette. Die Mindestanzahl von Umreifungen/Palette sollte aus Stabilitätsgründen  niemals weniger als zwei sein.

ASTM

ASTM D3950-4 ist eine Norm zu linearen Reißfestigkeiten von Umreifungsbändern aus Kunststoff und Stahl.

blank

Art des Korrosionsschutzes bei Stahlband. Verfügbar sind blank, gebläut, schwarz lackiert und zink lackiert. Blankes Verpackungsstahlband wird nicht als Güteband bezeichnet. Es ist nur in Scheibenwicklung verfügbar und verfügt über den geringsten Korrosionsschutz.

Blankband

Blankband, siehe „blank“, ist blankes Verpackungsstahlband in Scheibenwicklung ohne zusätzliche Behandlung zum Korrosionsschutz. Es hat eine leicht gefettete Oberfläche, ist kalt gewalzt und verfügt über eine Festigkeit/Bruchlast von 650-760N/mm² und 3-4 % Bruchdehnung. Blankes Stahlband hat arrondierte Kanten und eignet sich für die Verwendung mit Handgeräten.
Stahlband im allgemeinen zeichnen sich durch extrem hohe Reißfestigkeiten bis 700 kg aus und sind besonders geeignet bei schweren, scharfkantigen oder heißen Packgütern.

Bruchdehnung

Wird das Band von beiden Enden gezogen, ist hier die Prozentzahl angegeben, um die sich das Band dehnen lässt, bevor es reißt.

Bruchlast

Die Bruchlast eines Bandes errechnet sich durch Bandbreite x Bandstärke x ØNewton, z.B. 16*0,5*885=7080N. Bei dieser Angabe handelt es sich also um ein Band, an das man ein Gewicht von 708kg hängen kann, bevor es bricht.
Die Frage, die sich viele Anwender stellen ist: „Wie viele Bänder muss ich drum machen/wie viele Umreifungen muss ich tätigen, um eine Palette mit 1000kg zu sichern?“ Die Antwort ist zusätzlich abhängig davon, ob das Gut nur grundsätzlich oder zusätzlich extra vor verrutschen gesichert werden soll. So wäre bei einem gebläutem Band in den Abmessungen 19*0,6mm und 885N/mm² durchschittlicher Zugfestigkeit die Bruchlast 10089N = 1,0089 To pro Umreifung. Dies würde also eine Umreifung halten. Als Richtwert sollten immer 20% als Schockreserve eingebaut werden, also bei 1000kg Last, sollten 1200kg abgesichert werden.

Bündelband

Siehe Umreifungsband

BGI

BGI Ladungssicherung auf Straßenfahrzeugen.

CTU

CTU-Packrichtlinien (Richtlinien für das Packen von Ladung außer Schüttgut in oder auf Beförderungseinheiten [CTUs = Container Transport Units] bei Beförderung mit allen Verkehrsträgern zu Wasser und zu Lande, Stand 1997, die Neufassung sollte 2014 herauskommen, liegt aber noch nicht vor).

DIN EN 13394:2001-07

In der Norm DIN EN 13394:2001-07 sind Verpackungs – Spezifikation für nichtmetallische Umreifungsbänder geregelt; Deutsche Fassung der EN 13394:2001.

DIN EN 13246:2001-07

Die DIN EN 13246:2001-07 befasst sich mit Verpackungs – Spezifikation für Umreifungsbänder aus Stahl; Deutsche Fassung der EN 13246:2001.

DIN EN 13891:2003-09

In der Norm DIN EN 13891:2003-09 ist die Umreifungsbänder – Auswahl und Anwendung festgelegt; Deutsche Fassung der EN 13891:2003.

DIN EN 12195-1

Die DIN EN 12195-1 (April 2004) in der EU (außer Deutschland hier gilt die VDI 2700 ff.) enthält Berechnungsgrundlagen, z. B. Beschleunigungsbeiwerte, und Berechnungsverfahren für die Ladungssicherung.

DIN 10531

DIN 10531 (Ladeeinheitensicherung beim Umschlag).

DIN EN 12195

DIN EN 12195 ff. (Berechnung von Zurrkräften, Zurrmittel).

DIN EN 12640

DIN EN 12640 (Zurrpunkte).

Flachumreifung

Jede Form von Umreifung mit einer Auflagefläche von etwa 10cm flachem Umreifungsgut.

gebläut

Art des Korrosionsschutzes bei Stahlband. Verfügbar sind blank, gebläut, schwarzlackiert und zinklackiert, wobei die drei letzteren die Gruppe des Gütebandes bilden. Ein verbesserter Korrosionsschutz wird durch eine dünne, festhaltende blaue Oxydschicht und zusätzlichen Heißwachs erreicht. So ergibt sich für das Verpackungsstahlband ein optimales Spannverhalten im Umreifungsgerät.

Güteband

Gütestahlband ist als Scheibenwicklung und als Packenwicklung verfügbar. Der Korrosionsschutz ist erhältlich in gebläut, schwarzlackiert und zinkstaublackiert. Gütestahlband verfügt über eine Bruchlast von 750-960 N/mm² und eine Bruchdehnung von ca. 6-8 %.
Güteband wird wärmebehandelt und ist in der reinen Art gebläut. Es verfügt über absolut arrondiuert Kanten, wird gewachst und eignet sich für Halb- und Vollautomaten, sowie Handgeräte.
Das lackierte Gütestahlband verfügt über den verbesserten Korrosionsschutz. Der Farbauftrag bei Schwarzlack ist ca. 3my, bei zinklack ca. 6 my.
Stahlband im allgemeinen zeichnen sich durch extrem hohe Reißfestigkeiten bis 700 kg aus und sind besonders geeignet bei schweren, scharfkantigen oder heißen Packgütern.

Grammatur

Je breiter und dicker das Band umso höher ist die Grammatur (Materialgewicht) und so höher die Bruchfestigkeit.

Glatte Oberfläche

Ein glattes PET Umreifungsband hat eine höhere Bruchfestigkeit, weil es mehr g/m und weniger Abrieb hat.

Geprägte Oberfläche

Ein geprägtes PET Band verfügt über die besseren Verschlusssiegeleigenschaften wegen größerer Materialoberfläche. Je mehr das Band geprägt ist desto günstiger wird es weil die Materialstärke (Grammatur) abnimmt, und ebenso die Bruchfestigkeit.

Hochleistungsband

Hochleistungsband ist als Scheibenwicklung und als Packenwicklung verfügbar. Der Korrosionsschutz ist erhältlich in gebläut, schwarzlackiert und zinkstaublackiert. Hochleistungsstahlband verfügt über eine Bruchlast von 930-1030 N/mm² und eine Bruchdehnung von ca. 13 %.

LIS Teil I

LIS Teil I (Ladungssicherung von Stückgut, BAM Schulungshandbuch, Stand Oktober 2011).

Manuelles Umreifungsgerät

Bei manuellen Umreifungsgeräten wird das Umreifungsband von Hand gespannt und – je nach Bandtyp – mit einer Hülse oder Metallklemme (bzw. Stegverschluss) verschlossen. Für PP- und PET-Band gibt es neben Spanner & Zange als separate Geräte auch sogenannte Kombi-Umreifungsgeräte, bei denen Spann -und Verschlussfunktion in einem Gerät integriert sind. Manuelle Umreifungsgeräte sind deutlich preiswerter als pneumatische oder Akku-Umreifungsgeräte und sollten immer dann eingesetzt werden, wenn nur wenig umreift wird.

MSL (Maximum Securing Load)

Beim Seetransport ist die MSL (Maximum Securing Load = Maximale Einsatzfähigkeit [speziell bei Einweggurten]) wichtig, diese Belastung stellet sich beim Einweg-Zurrgut ab 50% der Bruchfestigkeit ein. Die MSL wird in daN angegeben.

Mobiles Umreifen

Als mobiles Umreifen wird jede Form von flexiblem, örtlich verlegbarem Umreifen bezeichnet. Mobil umreift wird also vor allem mit manuellem oder akkubetriebenen Handgerät durchgeführt.

Packenwicklung

Art von Wicklung beim Stahlband. Es gibt Stahlband in Scheibenwickung und Packenwicklung. Bei Packenwicklung wird der Abrollwagen von vorne bestückt. Es wird vorrangig für die maschinelle Verarbeitung gewählt, da mehr Meter auf der Rolle sind. Für die manuelle Verarbeitung aufgrund des hohen Gewichts der Packenwicklung von 50kg pro Packen die Scheibenwicklung mit etwa 20kg bevorzugt.

Pneumatisches Umreifungsgerät

Der Einsatz von pneumatischen Umreifungsgeräten mit Textil- oder Lashband ist immer dann sinnvoll, wenn bspw. aufgrund von Sicherheitsbestimmungen sehr hohe und/ oder konstante Spannkräfte erreicht werden müssen. In Verbindung mit PP- und PET-Band werden Pneumaten Akku- Umreifungsgeräten immer dann vorgezogen, wenn v.a. stationär umreift wird und/ oder besonders hohe Spannkräfte erforderlich sind (z.B. bei der Verarbeitung von 25 oder 32 mm PET-Band).

PP-Band, PP-Umreifungsband

PP steht für Polypropylen. Polypropylen ist ein durch Kettenpolymerisation von Propen hergestellter thermoplastischer Kunststoff. Es gehört zur Gruppe der Polyolefine und ist teilkristallin und unpolar.
Ein Umreifungsband aus Polypropylen ist geeignet zur Verarbeitung mit Vollautomaten, Akku-Umreifungsgeräten und manuellen Handumreifungsgeräten. PP-Band ist eine kostengünstige Variante für Reißfestigkeiten bis zu 250 kg. PP Umreifungsband ist gut geeignet zur Verwendung bei Packstücken, deren Volumen sich verändert (z.B. Holz), Dehnung ca. 20%.

PET-Band, PET-Umreifungsband

PET ist kurz für Polyethylenterephthalat. Polyethylenterephthalat ist ein durch Polykondensation hergestellter thermoplastischer Kunststoff aus der Familie der Polyester. PET hat vielfältige Einsatzbereiche und wird unter anderem zur Herstellung von Kunststoffflaschen (PET-Flaschen), Folien und Textilfasern verwendet. PET Umreifungsband wird aus Flakes recycelten PET-Flaschen hergestellt. Virgin-Rohstoffmaterial wird nur dann verwendet, wenn hohe Bruchfestigkeiten oder farbige/transparente Bänder gewünscht sind. Das LINDER Premium PET Band ist geeignet zur Verarbeitung mit Vollautomaten, Akku-Umreifungsgeräten und manuellen Handumreifungsgeräten und zeichnet sich durch extrem hohe Reißfestigkeiten bis 650 kg aus. Vielerorts ist das PET-Band als günstige Alternative zu Verpackungsstahlband einsetzbar. PET Umreifungsband ist sehr spleißfest und hat eine geringe Dehnung. PET Band ist in den Abmessungen 9-32 mm Breite und 0,4-1,34 mm Stärke erhältlich.

Reißkraft

Die Reisskraft eines Umreifungsbandes wird in daN angegeben. Man unterscheidet die lineare von der Systemfestigkeit.

Rundumreifung

Von Rundumreifung wird immer dann gesprochen, wenn keine oder eine sehr geringe Auflagefläche vorhanden ist. Bei runden Packstücken sind bei PP-/PET-Band keine akkubetriebenen oder bei Stahlband keine hülsenlosen Handgeräte einsetzbar.

Scheibenwicklung

Art von Wicklung beim Stahlband. Es gibt Stahlband in Scheibenwickung und Packenwicklung. Bei Scheibenwicklung ist durch das Gewicht das Handling einfacher. Ringgewicht bei SW abhängig von Breite:
13mm mit 20kg bis 32mm mit 50kg, ab 25mm bis 32mm gibt es nur noch SW. Der Abrollwagen wird bei Scheibenwicklung von oben bestückt. Scheibenwicklung wird überwiegend bei manueller Verarbeitung gewählt, da bei maschineller Verarbeitung auch der Vorteil des selteneren Rollenwechsels bei Packenwicklung einbezogen wird.

schwarz lackiert

Art des Korrosionsschutzes bei Stahlband. Verfügbar sind blank, gebläut, schwarz lackiert und zink lackiert. Elektrophotetische Lackierung (galvanischer Lackauftrag) sichert einen uniformen Lacküberzug auf dem Verpackungsstahlband. Dieser Überzug ist hoch haftend und elastisch. Das lackierte Stahlband zeichnet sich durch einen hohen Rostschutz aus; besonders an den Kanten. Ebenfalls bietet es einen geringen Abrieb für hohe Funktionssicherheit von Geräten und Maschinen.

Schockreserve

Im Umreifungsjargon wird die planmäßige Überbesicherung des zu sichernden Gutes als Schockreserve bezeichnet. Will man also eine Ladung von 1000 Kg sichern, wird dazu geraten, 20% als Schockreserve hinzuzurechnen, um für den äußersten Fall gewappnet zu sein. So sichert man de facto 1200 Kg ab.

Schnürband

Siehe Umreifungsband

Strukturviskosität

Die Strukturviskosität (intrinsic viscosity – IV) der Flakes hat einen wichtigen Einfluss auf die Bandeigenschaften, z.B. die Reißkraft, es ist deshalb wichtig, das richtige Rohmaterial einzusetzen.

Systemfestigkeit

Systemfestigkeit: Wann reißt eine mit Verschluss aufgebrachte Umreifung von Band und Verschlussschnalle? Die Systemfestigkeit ist abhängig von der linearen Bruchfestigkeit des Bandes und der Verschlussfestigkeit. Theoretische Formel: Lineare Bruchfestigkeit x 2 – Verlust im Verschluss (Verschluss ist dabei das schwächste Glied), also z.B. Systemfestigkeit ist ca. 2×80% – 20% Verlust im Verschluss = 1,6 fache lineare Bruchfestigkeit.

Stationäres Umreifen

Als stationäres Umreifen wird das auf einen Ort festgelegte Umreifen bezeichnet. Stationär umreift man also mit Maschinen oder Pneumatikgeräten.

Umreifungsgerät

Unterschieden werden bei Umreifungsbändern für PP- Band und PET-Band drei Gerätearten: manuelle Umreifungsgeräte, pneumatische Umreifungsgeräte, Akku-Umreifungsgeräte.
Im Fall der manuellen Umreifungsgeräte wird das PP-Band oder PET-Band mit Hilfe eines Hebels am Gerät händisch gespannt und mittels einer Verschlusshülse aus Plastik oder Metall verschlossen. Dabei kann gewählt werden, ob Spanner und Zange getrennt voneinander benutzt werden oder kombiniert in einem Umreifungsgerät zum Einsatz kommen.
Sollte die Auflagefläche für das zu umreifende Packstück zu gering sein, kann auch auf Magazingeräte bzw. Magazin-Umreifungsgeräte zurückgegriffen werden. Diese Geräte legen automatisch nach jedem Umreifungsvorgang eine neue Verschlusshülse nach.
Pneumatische Umreifungsgeräte kommen meist seltener zum Einsatz, da sie aufgrund des Luftdruckanschlusses weniger flexibel sind. Sie können aber genau dann praktisch verwendet werden, wenn immer die gleiche Spannkraft erreicht werden soll, besonders häufig umreift wird oder die Umreifungen in einer feuchten Umgebung stattfindet.
Kunden, die oft umreifen und dabei nicht auf Komfortabilität verzichten wollen, empfehlen wir die Verwendung von Akku-Umreifungsgeräten. Diese Geräte sind von geringem Gewicht, einfach in der Handhabung und bieten einen deutlichen Einspareffekt. So kann der Anwender bei einem Einsatz von Akku-Umreifungsgeräten ganz auf Verschlusshülsen verzichten und gleichzeitig deutlich mehr Umreifungen in kürzerer Zeit durchführen. Unsere Akku-Umreifungsgeräte spannen und verschweißen bequem per Knopfdruck und sind von besonders hoher Langlebigkeit.

Umreifung

Als Umreifung wird das Verschließen und Sichern von Packstücken mit einem Verschlussband, dem sogenannten Umreifungsband, bezeichnet. Umreifungen finden sich heutzutage in nahezu allen Branchen: Ob Metallindustrie, Baustoffe, Holz, Getränke, Möbel, Logistik oder Konsumgüter: Am Ende des Produktionsprozesses und vor dem Versand steht meistens die Umreifung. Mit Umreifungsbändern werden Pakete verschlossen, Waren gebündelt oder das Packgut wird für den Transport auf einer Palette fixiert. Gerade im Bereich der Ladungssicherung spielt das Thema Umreifung eine wichtige Rolle, ob Containerversand, Luftfrachtversand oder im Schienen- und Straßengüterverkehr. Von empfindlichen und sensiblen Materialien bis hin zu kompletten Maschinen und schweren Betonsteinen kann die Umreifungslösung individuell an den jeweiligen Einsatzzweck angepasst werden. Die verwendeten Materialien sind ganz vom Produkt abhängig. In den meisten Fällen werden Stahl-, Kunststoff- oder Textilbänder eingesetzt. Die Umreifungsbänder werden gespannt, durch Metallklammen, Hülsen oder Schweißtechniken verschlossen und abgeschnitten.
Abhängig von der Größe der Packstücke, der Beschaffenheit des Packgutes und der erforderlichen Kraft kommen die verschiedensten Geräte zum Einsatz: Manuelle Umreifungsgeräte, pneumatische Umreifungsgeräte, Akku-Umreifungsgeräte, oder auch Umreifungsautomaten und Umreifungsmaschinen, integriert in vollautomatische Förder- und Verpackungssysteme.

Umwelteinflüsse

Wenn die Umreifungen in feuchter, nasser und anderen widrigen Umgebungen aufgebracht werden müssen, sind manuelle Handgeräte besser einsatzbar als akkubetriebene Geräte. Auch ist das Umreifungsband entsprechend auszuwählen. Die Witterungsbeständigkeit und die Veränderung der Bandeigenschaften aufgrund von Umweltfaktoren sind ein wichtiges Entscheidungskriterium.

Verschlusshülsen

Verschlusshülsen werden immer passend zum Umreifungsgerät gewählt und nicht zum Umreifungsband.

Verschlussfestigkeit

Wieviel % der linearen Bruchfestigkeit wird in einem Bruchlastversuch in mit Verschlussschnalle aufgebrachter Umreifung erreicht. Mindestanforderungen sind in Normen wie EN ISO und ASTM definiert.
Die Verschlussfestigkeit hängt von den eingesetzten Verschlusstypen ab:
– Verschlusshülse (Stahlband, PP-, PET-Band)
– Metalldrahtklemme (Fadenstrukturbänder, gewebte Bänder)
– Stegverschlüsse/-haken (Einweg-Zurrgurte, Lashband)
– Hülsenlos per Reibverschweißung oder Heizkeilverschweißung (PP-, PET-Band)

VDI 3968

VDI 3968 ff. (Ladeeinheitensicherung)

zink lackiert

Art des Korrosionsschutzes bei Stahlband. Verfügbar sind blank, gebläut, schwarz lackiert und zink lackiert.